Testimonials

Zabuco Honeymoon Villa I

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: JackieOdm
Country of Origin: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed on: 24 December 2016

This was our second visit to Secret Bay Resort……the first visit was in February 2016. This time we stayed for 10 nights and enjoyed it tremendously. Please refer to my initial review for details. This visit we stayed in Zabuco I and were very pleased with the view…more than 180 degrees of sea, sky, views of Cabrits and Portsmouth. Sunsets were spectacular as were the rainbows when it rained. We scuba dived this time with JC Ocean Adventures and were very pleased. We ate in town one night…The Iguana Cafe. We were the only guests. The food was great. However, the food at Secret Bay was always excellent…..I love the lion fish and had it most nights. I love the local vegetables that were always offered and plentiful. The service is outstanding. In fact, we had no complaints and look forward to going again…….a perfect resort for those who want to relax, enjoy privacy and enjoy the view.
View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: December 2016

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: Steve M
Country of Origin: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed on: 3 December 2015

My wife and I just returned from Secret Bay. We are very fortunate and have stayed at many wonderful resorts over the last few years. I don’t even remember how we found Secret Bay, but we are so happy that we did. Their website and 3rd party reviews and magazine articles set the bar really high. In fact, I was pretty sure it would fall short of our very high expectations. That did not even come close to happening though. In fact, it was the best summer type vacation that we have ever had. And that is saying something.

We stayed in the original Zabuco Villa. The views were amazing and the villa was like having your very own beach house up on a cliff. The sound of the waves from everywhere in your villa was wonderful. We ate all of our meals on our deck overlooking the ocean or on the beach. It might as well have been our beach too because we rarely saw anyone on it. Most days, we would grab a couple of kayaks, head to the beach and do some snorkeling. My wife would then look for shells while I kayaked back to grab some food and some rum punch for a picnic on the beach.

The accommodations, food and staff were amazing. Just pick up the iPhone they leave for you whenever you need something and they will take care of it. We stayed for six nights and would have added at least another night if we would have been able to adjust our flight back home. We will know better next time.

Must do’s: Night snorkeling, couples massage by your pool and a sunset sail.

We will definitely return!

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: November 2015

 

 

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: linda333
Country of Origin: USA
Reviewed on: 22 December 2016

My husband and I discovered this place and celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary here! He is still saying it was PHENOMENAL. The first 5 nights we stayed in the Zing Zing 2 BR villa with our daughter and her husband and thought it couldn’t get better. Well I was wrong: they moved us to the Honeymoon Villa for another 5 nights and it was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience! The staff, the food, and the owner actually came to meet us making it a true highlight of our married life! Thanks again for be able to enjoy this unbelievable oasis in Dominica! Wowsers

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: October 2016

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: MJPantalones
Country of Origin:
Reviewed on: 08 May 2015

We were so very fortunate to be able to live in Zabuco I for two weeks!! The attention to detail in our home at Secret Bay was like nothing I had ever seen in a hotel. There was a lot of love put into creating such a beautiful space. At Zabuco I you are positioned on a cliff basically overlooking the Caribbean with a beach on either side of the villa so you always hear two sets of waves crashing. We also had our own private wild orchid garden. Unfortunately they we not blooming yet but it was still beautiful to be able to sit on 2 private decks overlooking the trees and the ocean.

The staff was so fantastic. Everyone was so helpful and accommodating. Our every need was met every day! Whether we wanted to kayak or see the secret cave it was all do able. Marvin was great and had a wonderful staff that worked with him. All the girls that took care of the villa were kind and respectful of our privacy. The kitchen staff was on point. They could whip you up just about anything you wanted, and it was good! Merlinda put together a wonderful itinerary for us. Along with planning our days they had drivers lined up to take us around to different spots. The drivers were great too! They were very proud of their island and happy to show it off to us. I am not sure we would have gotten as great an experience of it had it not been for these drivers. This is their home, they tell you their stories of why they love this beautiful place they get to live in everyday.

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: March 2015

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: tlwoxy
Country of Origin: New York
Reviewed on: 17 November 2015

We had an amazing vacation at Secret Bay. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. We stayed in two of the Zabuco Honeymoon Villas (we had to relocate for our last night). The views are breathtaking, the villas are to die for, the food is spectacular and the service is top notch.

The Honeymoon villas are HUGE, modern, serene and peaceful. When we arrived the staff had John Legend music playing on surround sound throughout the villa. We barely ever wanted to leave the villa to go to the beach. The hammock and the private pool within vast deck were all we needed to have an incredibly relaxing vacation. We took a yoga lesson on the downstairs deck and thoroughly enjoyed the heated pool.

The beaches are small and one has to travel by kayak to get to them, but the kayaking was our exercise, and the privacy of the beaches is well worth the 4-minute kayak trip. The resort supplies the kayak, beach shoes and bag to store belongings for the short trips to the beaches.

The food is delicious and the fact that it is brought to the villa is all the more worth the cost of the trip. The food is fresh and prepared to perfection. Everything is made to order – and enjoying a meal on the front deck with your favorite music playing is beyond romantic.

When I go back to Secret Bay I am taking only a small bag as I only wore a bathing suit and shorts while there — not once did I put on “real clothes” as there is no reason to leave the resort (or for me, the villa!). 🙂

The staff was so generous with their time. They all were so friendly and responsive.

After having traveled all around the world, this was by far our favorite vacation resort. It is a very small and quiet resort but we can’t say enough great things about it.

The only downside is that Dominica is a long and expensive trip from New York, but enjoying Secret Bay is well worth the time and expense!
View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: June 2015

 

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: Manfred F
Reviewed on: 11 December 2016

Secret Bay is the perfect place to celebrate a private wedding! Everything, starting from the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa, the nature, the two private beaches of the hotel, the staff, is there to make you feel good! After 4 days at Secret Bay we didn’t want to leave… It was like home in Paradise.

Our wedding on Secret Beach was like a dream come true!

We especially liked the the very kind and personal service that we received from everyone at the hotel. Thank you very much!

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: November 2016

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: ilovethapope
Reviewed on: 3 November 2015

I can’t even describe with words how truly amazing this resort is. We went for 7 nights for our honeymoon and to say this was the trip of a lifetime is an understatement. I travel frequently for work and am quite picky when it comes to accommodations. I thoroughly read all the reviews before booking and they’re all true – the pictures don’t do this place justice. The views are amazing, our personal attendant Roseline was so fun and sweet, accommodating, and the place was immaculate. Anything you want or need, they make it happen. All new appliances and furniture. They cooked two meals a day for us and we let them choose what to cook and wow – the food cannot be beat. I recommend not eating off the resort. We ate out for lunch one day after a hike and we missed the food at Secret Bay. We spent many days just relaxing in the villa. If you’re looking for white sandy beaches and night life and places to eat out at, Dominica is not for you. If you’re looking for total relaxation in the best resort with the best food and staff, Secret Bay is it. It was exactly what we were wanting for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased. We plan to go back and take our family with us!! If you’re on the fence, book it now! Dominica is still recovering from a tropical storm this past summer, however, we did not find that it hindered any part of our trip. The locals are so friendly and it is very safe outside the resort. An amazing trip!!!!

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: October 2015

 

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: 2501LDavis
Country of Origin: Barbados
Reviewed on: 1 October 2016

Secret Bay is by far the most romantic, beautiful, personal and peaceful place I have ever stayed. It starts with home-made plantain chips and cookies on the taxi ride from airport and never stops. Each villa has its own I-phone to call for anything you may need. We pre-ordered what food and drinks we wanted in our room on arrival. The homemade yogurt and granola were my favorite. We stayed in Zabuco 1. It was absolutely beautiful. It has its own personal plunge pool and a view that is second to none. The level of service is excellent. They staff go over and above to make you happy. The food was always super fresh and very tasty. We did some kayaking and snoring and enjoyed it immensely. Had a massage on our deck that was so wonderful and relaxing. We can’t wait to go back

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: September 2016

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: Caitlin F
Country of Origin: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed on: 15 July 2015

My husband and I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was at Secret Bay! From the resort itself to the food, the adventures and our villa attendant – the service and personal touches were impeccable. We had a disastrous journey to get there due to cancelled flights and an overnight stay on another island due to weather, all completely out of the control of Secret Bay, but Marvin checked in with us every step of the way – going so far as to stay up late and make calls to friends in transportation – and they could not have been more hospitable upon our arrival to the resort. Eudora, our villa attendant, was amazing and so wonderful to us each day. She recognized my husband’s love for hot sauce, and left an unopened bottle of the one he had been enjoying all week in our villa on our last night! Such a kindhearted touch.

We were in the Zabuco Villa and cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our time there. Our favorite moments of the honeymoon were looking out at the views on the porch or relaxing in the hammock. We also are so grateful to Merlinda, who helped us plan a few wonderful excursions for us for the times we wanted to be adventurous and not just relaxing. Don was the best, helping us spearfish for lionfish and taking my husband into the cave. We also loved our cooking class with Rosie and our hike to the waterfalls. We have already begun to sell our family on a return trip all together, as our time at Secret Bay is unforgettable. For anyone going to this resort, you will not be disappointed and will surely want to get back as soon as possible like we do!

 

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: June 2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: Jean-Marc D
Country of Origin:
Reviewed on: 1 October 2016

Secret Bay is the perfect retreat for the adventurous at heart or the peaceful romantic!

The bungalows that are strategically placed among the trees on the lush hillsides are perfectly appointed with every amenity that you can imagine to make you feel spoiled with comfort, and would make the fussiest of people feel as though it was custom designed, just for them!

I also cannot say enough about the service and the fantastic people that are employed at Secret Bay. No request is out of the question and everything is done with the broadest smiles and kindest hearts!

Dominica itself is possibly one of the most beautiful destinations anywhere, and now with Secret Bay gracing its’ shore I cannot imagine a more perfect place.

I cannot wait to return to this Utopia!!

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo

Stayed on: September 2016

 

5stars – 5 out of 5 stars
Name: Kris S
Country of Origin: Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed on: 13 June 2015

We came to Secret Bay for our honeymoon. We’ve both been fortunate enough to travel extensively and stay in some very special places…but this is an entirely different level! The service is world class and the views are even better. The serenity and privacy is absolutely second to none…but the staff is willing to arrange various excursions for you if you get bored with relaxing. The food is second to none…all restaurant quality, served to you on your deck overlooking the sea. This place would cost 2-3 times as much in Hawaii etc…and for my money is 2-3 times as beautiful! We will be back!

View this review on TripAdvisorLogo